Prayer for my friends in Oakland

Occupy Oakland

A man sits cross-legged in front of a line of police forces in downtown Oakland this Tuesday. Photo by Kim White for Reuters.

It has never been beyond the forces of the government to declare war against its own people.

To my friends in the City of Oakland, take heart even in light of the apparently brutal events of these nights. For if a city needs to bring out an army to put down non-violent protest then it seems that peaceful community is indeed a  threat to certain well-invested interests. The community that is building now resonates with so many of us in this forsaken country.

Even if I do not stand against smoke screens and rubber bullets, I stand in solidarity with you. I am occupying my space. In rural America. In the suburbs. In the altars of my own home. I occupy.

What is happening in Oakland is happening in Atlanta. It is happening in San Jose. It is Chiapas. It is Palestine. The reality is that the vested fear the strength of peace. There was nothing you did but say you shall not be moved. The city and its armed forces chose the point and time of violence.

So let any act against you by five hundred police forces or more, any grenade, any bullet, be met with the wideness of your compassion.

Let all their spears and arrows obliterate into flower petals at your touch.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment